Immortal Ever After by Lynsay Sands

immortaleverafter_200

A kiss doesn’t mean eternity . . .

Valerie Moyer doesn’t believe in vampires—until she is kidnapped by a fanged psychopath! After escaping her bloodthirsty captor, she’s through with creatures of the night. Until she finds herself under the protection of the darkly handsome Anders. Not only is she expected to accept that Anders is immortal, but also that she is the woman destined to be his life mate!

. . . Or does it?

Anders felt a connection to Valerie from the moment he cradled her bruised body in his arms. But before he claims her, he must destroy the vampire who almost stole her from him forever. His job would be easier if Valerie didn’t fight him every step of the way. Still, Anders loves a challenge, and the green-eyed beauty is worth fighting for!

I was very excited to finally get to Anders story. He is one of those characters that had my attention the moment he was introduced.  So I finally get his book in my hands and it took me 3 nights to finish. Seriously?  What just happened here? Normally I finish a book in a night, this took me 3 nights. No fever, nothing monumental going on in my life that is cutting into my reading time. The problem is: same formula that Sands has used for several books. I felt like it’s the same book, different names.  I am thrilled that Anders got his HEA (Happily Ever After) and that his lifemate Valerie is a strong woman; because let’s face it folks, no fainting flower will do for a man like him.

We learn a bit about Anders history and it’s heartbreaking. I wish she would have taken that history and used it somehow. I feel like it was thrown at us and forgotten.  He’s always come across as sort of mysterious, dark, brooding…but she didn’t bring that to the table this time. Perhaps Anders told Ms Sands that it wasn’t how he was going to win his lifemate over. I will admit seeing him uptight and figuring things out with Valerie was endearing and I love him more for it. He was gentle and just right for her.

Will I keep reading books in this series? Probably not. I believe that this was the end for me with this series. It was a good run, but with so many other books out there and this series using the exact same formula for a majority of the books…it’s falling to the back burner. If Sands gets around to writing Bricker’s story, I will pick that one up. He is another character that has caught my attention, and how can he not?! He’s so adorable!

My rating was 4 stars out of 5 but only because Anders FINALLY got his HEA. If it would have been any other couple it would have been a solid 3 for me.

Leave a Reply

