Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

Queen of Shadow book review

Shortly after she picked up a guitar, Miranda Grey conquered the Austin music scene with a newfound ability to psychically manipulate her audience’s emotions. But as her powers outgrow her control, her mind is increasingly invaded by haunting secrets and overwhelming sadness. Unable to look anyone in the eye, Miranda is fast approaching the edge of insanity – with no one to catch her fall…

When he outlawed killing humans, David Solomon ignited a civil war among Austin’s vampires. As Prime of the South, his sympathy for mortals angered the old guard who refuse to control their violent urges. David has his hands full with the growing insurgency, but he takes in a broken-down woman, a musician in need of supernatural guidance. Little does he know that Miranda Grey has the power to change his world as well.

Can you tell I have been a busy bee with my reading? Well I have. 🙂  My 19 month old has decided that sleeping is no longer required so this has upped my reading time at night. I’m still not sure if I should thank her or just let her cry it out in her bed at night. We’ll see, that may depend if I have any ‘must read’ books coming up.

Let’s get to it. I’m conflicted as to what genre this falls into. It started out pretty dark, gritty…more Urban Fantasy. But at some point it moved to Paranormal Romance. Which I’m fine with, I love both genres. But I could see how somebody who doesn’t like PNR would feel tricked. So if you don’t like the ‘fated to be mates’ thing, this might not be for you.

We meet Miranda who is just broken, she truly is losing her mind and slowly her life. She is an empath and doesn’t know it. She has no way to save herself because she thinks she is just losing her mind. One night after playing a gig at a local bar, her world changes forever. This is the part of the book I had the hardest time with. I cried….hard.  Reading about a rape and not even detailed was incredibly hard for me. I almost put the book down. But I didn’t and I’m glad that I didn’t.

Miranda ends up being brought to David’s (the Prime) home (I really think of it more of a headquarters but that is besides the point) to get better.  But what I liked the most about David is that he wanted to help her help herself. He taught her how to function, how to build shields so she could have a normal life if she chose to.  She worked hard to not be the victim again and it paid off.

I really liked David. While yes he has those Alpha Male tendencies…he let her be her. He let her flounder as she learned. He didn’t coddle her or lock her up and not let her do anything because he was afraid for her. I think Sylvan did a fabulous job with creating David. He is pretty much the best of all worlds. And when we read about him crying, I lost it. Men crying do that to me.

I am curious to see where this series goes, I will definitely be reading more in this series. And not just because I picked up book 2 at my local library’s shelf sale for 25 cents 🙂  The great thing about this book, it would do well as a stand alone as well, which I think is hard to pull off in a series when the focus is solely on 1 couple.

4 out of 5 stars for me.

2 thoughts on “Queen of Shadows by Dianne Sylvan

  1. The Urban Book Thief says:

    Great review – i hope you’ve managed to get some sleep since writing this 😉 I’ve read a few reviews of this book recently and think I’m going to have to give it a try too. I also happen to be a sucker when it comes to men crying…

  2. misskristink says:

    Thank you 🙂 And yea, I’ve gotten a little bit more but not much lol. Sleep just isn’t important in her little world.

    I have book 2 laying on my night stand and I plan to get to it here soon. I hear that the author changes the direction of the series in book 2, so we’ll see. But I hear nothing but great things about this series. I’ll be looking forward to hear what you think of it as well!

Leave a Reply

