On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

Portrait of young  couple

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul.

I had this strange sense of deja vu while reading this. Where have I seen this before? I know I have read something incredibly similar. Ooooooh, 50 Shades of Grey, that’s what it reminded me of. Right now to a club scene where the guy who manhandles our heroine gets decked in the face.  Don’t get me wrong, I like my romances in any genre…so I was surprised with myself for having issues with the book.

I have read quite a bit of Samantha Young’s work and I love it. She definitely has a great way with words. Which was why I was excited to read this book. However, I don’t feel it was her best stuff.  The plot, well besides sex wasn’t much of one.  The whole “went to work, then shower, then waited for him, then we had sex, lather-rinse-repeat” got old quickly. So did the whole “I have too many basketcaseheadissues to be in a relationship”. I hate when characters are clearly in love with each other so to “save” them they push the one they love away. I get it’s to create drama and turmoil, but it’s a pet peeve of mine!

Braden. Braden is a hunk. 🙂 I find him to be the redeeming quality of this book. But holy cow, no man should have to work THAT hard to win a woman over. At some point I said, “For frakking out loud, enough is enough!”  I can overlook his bossy nature because yea, he’s hot! 😉  You my dear dear man are what saved this from a 2 star rating and brought it up to a 3 star. Give yourself a pat on the back.

I wanted to punch Joss in her girly parts. Get over yourself. Yes you have issues. But c’mon…GET OVER YOURSELF!  Joss did have her moments where she was witty and likable, but there weren’t many.

If you liked 50 Shades of Grey but could have done without the BDSM, this is definitely for you. I really felt that I was reading a super condensed version of the popular trilogy. I wasn’t a huge fan of that one either. I like my stories to have a bit more plot, a bit more action, just, well…a bit more lol. Will I read book 2, Jo’s story? Yes I will, I’m a glutton for punishment 😉 No, not really, it’s not that bad. Jo is one of those characters that spoke to me, I want to know what is going on with her to make her do what she does. Jo’s turmoil seemed more real to me then Joss’s. Thankfully I only have a couple days to wait for it. 🙂

I rated On Dublin Street 3 out of 5 stars.

One thought on “On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

  1. Hi – Surprise!!! I have nominated you for the Liebster Blogger Award. Don’t get too excited now 😉 click here to find out more. http://urbanbookthief.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/i-won-an-awesome-blog-award-shucks-guys/

Leave a Reply

