Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire

 

Rosemary and Rue review

October “Toby” Daye, a changeling who is half human and half fae, has been an outsider from birth. After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, Toby has denied the Faerie world, retreating to a “normal” life. Unfortunately for her, the Faerie world has other ideas… 

The murder of Countess Evening Winterrose pulls Toby back into the fae world. Unable to resist Evening’s dying curse, which binds her to investigate, Toby must resume her former position as knight errant and renew old alliances. As she steps back into fae society, dealing with a cast of characters not entirely good or evil, she realizes that more than her own life will be forfeited if she cannot find Evening’s killer.

Our last day of school was Thursday. It’s now Sunday and I’m about to pull my hair out. Trying to keep 4 kids entertained all day everyday is going to be a challenge. Thankfully I have my books to retreat to (I lock myself in the bathroom and tell the kids that mommy is having ‘tummy issues’ to get 10 minutes of quiet….so I read lol), if I didn’t have that escape I don’t know what I’d do! I’d probably be scouring the internet looking for summer camps that pick them up the day after the last day of school and drops them off the day before school starts (Mother Of The Year Award here I come!), yea, I’m horrible.

I started Rosemary and Rue last night as the kids were winding down from playing outside. With it being the first book in a series, much is being set up. So when I started I was confused. The prologue was great, I forgot I was even reading a prologue, it jumped right in! Then Chapter 1 happens. It took me a bit to get my bearings, I was pretty confused. Was I reading the same book? Who’s POV was this? Did she get out of the pond? WHAT’S GOING ON?! Things became clear again. Then I got all upset because being a mother myself I couldn’t imagine. My heart just hurt for Toby. I understood then why she’d stay away from anything to do with fae. You can’t blame her at all.  I wish more would have been written about how she earned her Knight title for Sylvester (and that relationship has me saying ‘awwwwww’ every time they interact). It must have been pretty awesome right? Purebloods hate changelings, and she’s the only changeling to earn that title.

The message on the answering machine, you just knew it was going to be bad. The curse that Evening placed on Toby just sucked. And poor Toby didn’t know that by doing what she needed to do to help solve the murderer would bind the curse to her that much more. Though I suspect Evening knew it and was counting on it.  How else do you ensure that the killer is brought to justice in a swift manner?

SPOILER HERE, IF YOU DON’T WANT TO BE SPOILED, SKIP THIS PARAGRAPH!!!
Now that I have read the book I looked back at other reviews to see what others thought of this book, a lot of people saying, “I knew who the killer was from the word go!” I didn’t. I must be slow lol. But I had no clue. Here I was hoping changes had been made in Devin’s character and morals; that they could give love another go. Was it weird that she found herself in the arms of Devin though she knows what he does, what he is? Very much so. I don’t know how you get past that, but maybe Toby is just lonely, maybe she thought he changed, or he’s just that good of an actor; but they end up with each other and he betrays her.

When Toby is “riding the blood” of the dead assassin from the park and got the memory from Tybalt, I really hope that memory ends up blossoming in the books to come. Tybalt is a character that “speaks” to me. He’s snarky and acts like he hates Toby; I think he secretly loves her and thought so from the first moment we met him. He reminded me of the boys at the playground who pick on the girls who they like the most. “I-like-you-but-I-don’t-want-you-to-know-so-I’ll-push-you-and-throw-sand-in-your-hair-and-call-you-names” type of thing.  The King of Cats is pretty awesome if you ask me lol.

The writing was pretty well done, I found it to be fast paced and smooth transitions from one scene to the next. Once Toby is targeted by assassins things pick up so much. I found myself up until 1:30 this morning finishing this book up. I just couldn’t turn my Kindle Fire off. I have book 2 loading on my Kindle as I type this out. I will be starting it tonight, hopefully I don’t stay up all night reading but I have an inkling that may very well happen.

Rosemary and Rue is book 1 of the October Daye Series, solid 4 star read for me. I’d recommend this for anybody looking for a new world to explore. Toby is a refreshing heroine, she’s average, she’s not the best at what she does; this makes her feats that much more spectacular.

Oh, and I mustn’t forget! So far, this is Urban Fantasy. Sex was implied, but it wasn’t spelled out like it is in so many other books. It was refreshing to just read the story. I’m not sure if sex will muck up book 2 or 3 or 4, I’ll let you know 😉

2 thoughts on “Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve been wanting to start this series for a while, and if it’s keeping you up at night I guess that’s a sign that it’s worth reading! Thanks for writing such a thorough review. (I did skip the spoilers.)

    • Miss Kris says:

      Read it!! I was just thinking of this series this morning, about how I need to make the time to write my reviews for the rest of the books. This series has become a favorite of mine, I hope you enjoy it as much as I have! I plowed through the 6 books that are out at the moment in a couple weeks…all of the books were so hard to put down!

Leave a Reply

