A Local Habitation by Seanan McGuire

A Local Habitation Review

Toby Daye-a half-human, half-fae changeling-has been an outsider from birth. After getting burned by both sides of her heritage, Toby has denied the fae world, retreating to a “normal” life. Unfortunately for her, the Faerie world had other ideas…

Now her liege, the Duke of the Shadowed Hills, has asked Toby to go to the County of Tamed Lightning to make sure all is well with his niece, Countess January O’Leary. It seems like a simple enough assignment-until Toby discovers that someone has begun murdering people close to January, and that if the killer isn’t stopped, January may be the next victim.

Let’s just say that a friend of mine on GoodReads.com has turned me into a Toby Daye Fanatic. I have downloaded every book in this series that is out at the moment…and I can’t wait to get going on them!  Book 2 in the October Daye Series took me 2 days to read. It would have been 1 but the bags under my eyes were telling me that sleep was pretty important.  If you know me, I’m vain enough to care about that sort of stuff.  But I have a feeling they will just be getting worse since I can’t seem to put these books down. Even when my Kindle dies on me, I quick plug it in and keep reading….which is horrible right? I’ve seen people post about things blowing up because they get over heated (is this something Mythbusters could prove wrong for us, it would make us book junkies feel a bit better about it).

This book was way ahead of book 1 in regards to writing, story telling, character development, and not confusing the heck out of the poor stay at home mom of 4 who happens to be sleep deprived.  Plus…TYBALT! I love that King of Cats something fierce. The scene with the 2 of them in the beginning made my tummy do little somersaults and flips. You just KNOW something is brewing there.

I wasn’t surprised when Sylvester had a job for Toby to do. I have a feeling this might be a recurring theme, just a hunch and it may be wrong. But that is what my gut is telling me. She is asked to go check up on his niece January (anybody else find it odd that her name is January and Toby’s is October, or was it just me?) and while doing so take Quentin along with for experience. They weren’t expecting a clusterf*$% to land in their laps. Of course that is what happens though.

Plenty of twists with this one, a true “who-dun-it” in my opinion. I had an inkling of who the murderer was, but kept a suspect on the back burner just so I could say, “I knew who it was the whole time!”. C’mon, you all do it! You keep a list of a bunch of suspects and never narrow it down to just 1 so you can be right. Being right feels good, so I do it too! And I knew something was up with Alex. It was just too weird for that not to be going on. Toby actually has Quentin in on the blood tasting; Quentin manned up and just went with it. I’m proud of that kid. But the thing is, neither of them are finding memories in the blood. Nothing, it’s just blood. So of course you need to keep reading to find out why. It was a major “what the heck” moment.

Connor, hmmmmm….not sure what to think of him. He’s a married man, openly lusting after Toby. He needs to keep hands and lips to himself.  He had a great one liner though, I may have to use it at a later date. “Now, we can stand here until you stop breathing and I drag you out, or we can out to the hall. You’ll like the hall. It comes with oxygen.”

So now we need to talk about Tybalt! My most favoritest (according to my 5 yr old that IS a word, and it fits, so there :P) character. The “here kitty, kitty” comments had me laughing out loud. They were great!  “Shall I simply wave my hands and call, ‘Here kitty, kitty’?” There were others, but that one had me laughing out loud so spontaneously that I scared my dog and he wouldn’t come near me the rest of the day. I just know there is more going on with his feelings towards Toby then what he is letting on. The way he was snarling at Alex before she knew what Alex was; me thinks our kitty king knew what Alex was and that caused the snarls and claws.  I still think Tybalt should have just killed him then.  I’m hoping things get cleared up in the next book as to why Tybalt can’t look at Toby anymore. That was very frustrating, but like all epic loves…frustration is a key ingredient right?

I seriously cannot wait to start reading book 3 tonight. The faster I devour these books the better. 🙂 I haven’t been this excited about a series in a long time and the excitement is refreshing. I wholeheartedly embrace it.

A Local Habitation is Book 2 in the October Daye Series. This was a 5 out of 5 stars read for me. Do I recommend it….YES! Go, get it right now!!

Leave a Reply

