It’s been a long time…..

I was a book review blogger once, I was pretty active as well. But life got in the way. My husband took a job in another state and I had to not only get our home in Minnesota sold, but pack up said house on my own while my husband was already in Montana. It was a monumental task…but I did it, while taking care of 4 kids. Thankfully I did have help from a few wonderful friends, one gal from church was coming every week. I will forever be thankful for her.

All that said, we are now in Montana. It’s beautiful, it’s new, it’s scary. We’ve moved 3 times in the yr we’ve been here but I do believe we are settled now. I’m hoping that now that we’re settled, I can start the very scary process of making friends. Remember back when you were a kid, you’d push some kid down and say, “Hey, we’re friends now.” and it was some life long friendship? That’s highly frowned upon as an adult. So I’m left to try to find other ways to make friends that won’t come with an assault charge and a pair of handcuffs. Since I am slow to make friends, my books have been keeping me company (and numerous games of Words With Friends….seriously, that is like crack for a words lover). I should have been keeping a log of what I have read and all of the feels that came along with each book, but I haven’t. I will now.

Something else that I have started while out here is writing again. I didn’t realize how much I missed it or how lost I could become in a story. Seriously, sit down to write a few pages and a few hours go by and I wonder where my time had gone. Though slow going, it’s going. And that’s all I really can ask for right? It’s exciting to think that I’m getting these stories and characters on to paper (or my computer screen I should say)…but taking care of a family of 6 definitely makes it difficult. I’ll be posting about that progress in addition to the books I’m reading.

I’ve widened my reading from mostly PNR to pretty much all Romances, except historical. No matter how hard I try I just can’t get past the first 5 or 6 chapters in a historical romance. I appreciate the research and effort that goes into them…I think they must be incredibly difficult to write to stay accurate to the period. Just not my cup of tea.

Hopefully, I will be able to sit at least once a week and share something. Whether it’s a review, a thought, something stupid or crazy that my kids (let’s be honest here…myself) have done.

Enjoy your day!!

Leave a Reply

