Always (Wesson Rebel MC Book 1) by Shyla Colt

Always book 1Always (Wesson Rebel MC Book 1) by Shyla Colt

Let me start this review off with this, if there hadn’t been 4 POVs and bouncing from the past about 2 or 3 yrs ago, then to the present, then to the past a couple months ago and then again to the present this would be a 3.5 star read for me. I really struggled with how it was organized and felt there was no flow, which was incredibly frustrating.

This was my first MC read and it won’t be my last. I felt that part of the story was written decently. From what I know about that lifestyle, it’s not for the faint of heart so I knew there would be some dark spots in this story. It took me up until 67% of the story to even know why the main characters were upset with what they were dealing with in the present. Then the present sort of jumped ahead leaving me feeling like I missed something. Which is hard.

The main characters are Dallas, Cora, Danny and Rowan. When I read the blurb, it only mentions Dallas and Cora so it was sort of frustrating to find out that this is really 4 main characters. Danny and Rowan are just as important to the story line as Dallas and Cora. But this story is more than just a love story between Dallas and Cora. It’s a love story between 4 people. Love and friendship. The sex scenes were ok, but if you aren’t ok with swapping or sharing, this may not be the read for you.

I never really connected with any of the characters that much besides Rowan and I think it’s because she’s the only one I was able to picture in my mind. There wasn’t much description of the characters except for her. With some more description this could have helped readers connect with the other characters better.

I really feel that if this was written in a 2 person POV in the present with some flashbacks to help support the story it could have flowed much easier. It’s not a horrible read and I’m curious how this story ends (this is book 1 and it ends in a cliffhanger). I may pick up the next in the series.

ARC generously provided by netgalley.com for honest review

Leave a Reply

